Starting a business in Oro Valley, Arizona

Oro Valley requires an $80-a-year town business license (prorated by month) for anyone doing business in town, including home businesses. Higher-impact home businesses need Planning and Zoning Commission approval. Food businesses also go through Pima County's Health Department.

Every item checked November 5, 2026 against the linked official source. Fees are shown only where an official source documents them, and they’re paid directly to the agency listed — FirstBizGuide isn’t a government agency and doesn’t charge fees or file applications. Not legal advice.

About your business (choose all that apply)
  • Register your business

    • Articles of Organization for an LLC: $50 regular or $85 expedited. Reserving a name first is optional ($10, or $45 expedited). Unless your statutory agent's street address is in Maricopa or Pima County, a notice of the filing must be published in a newspaper after approval. [source]

      • LLC Articles of Organization (regular): $50 [source]

      Agency: Arizona Corporation Commission

    • Optional. It records a business name publicly but does not give exclusive rights to it. Lasts 5 years; renew within the 6 months before it expires. [source]

      Agency: Arizona Secretary of State

    • The IRS issues EINs free. Sites that charge for this are third parties. [source]

      Agency: Internal Revenue Service

  • State and city tax licenses

    • Apply on AZTaxes.gov; the license number is issued the same day and the certificate is mailed in about 7–10 business days. Your city's tax license is handled through the same ADOR application. Exempt handymen generally don't need one. [source]

      Agency: Arizona Department of Revenue

    • The town tax license is handled through ADOR. ADOR's Oro Valley profile lists a $12 city license fee and a $0 renewal, collected by ADOR. Oro Valley's retail sales rate is 2.5%, on top of state and county rates; contracting and utilities are 4.0%, and hotels pay an additional 6.0%. Sales tax questions go to Oro Valley Finance. [source] [source]

      • Oro Valley city tax license (via ADOR): $12 [source]

      Agency: Arizona Department of Revenue

  • If you hire employees

    • Also required: workers' compensation insurance (paid entirely by the employer), reporting each new or rehired employee within 20 days, and E-Verify for all new employees. [source]

      Agency: ADOR and Arizona DES

  • Industry licenses

    • Generally required for construction work of $1,000 or more in labor and materials, or whenever a building permit is needed. Work under the exemption must be advertised as "not a licensed contractor." Lawn, garden, shrub and tree maintenance only is exempt. [source]

      Agency: Arizona Registrar of Contractors

  • Food businesses

    • Created by HB 2371 (2018): valid statewide, a separate license for each unit, renewed yearly; employees need food handler cards. Confirm current statute text, which may have been amended. [source]

      Agency: County health department

    • Food establishments in Pima County go through the Health Department's plan review before opening. Pima County lists plan review fees of $480 for a fixed food establishment and $230 for a mobile food establishment; a modified plan review is $66 plus a $56 pre-operational inspection. Annual operating permit fees are not stated on the pages checked. [source] [source]

      • Pima County plan review — fixed food establishment: $480 [source]
      • Pima County plan review — mobile food establishment: $230 [source]

      Agency: Pima County Health Department

    • The county provides the guide, a commissary agreement form and a commissary attendance report. Under the county's commissary policy, a mobile food unit must use a licensed commissary daily (food prep and storage, dishwashing, potable water, wastewater dumping); the notarized commissary agreement is renewed yearly with the unit's License to Operate and whenever you change commissaries, and the commissary files a monthly attendance report for each unit. [source] [source]

      Agency: Pima County Health Department

    • Town Code 8-2-6 sets the mobile food vendor license tax at $80 for vendors based in Oro Valley and $20 for vendors based elsewhere (the code doesn’t say how often it is paid). Before the license is issued you must provide a fire department inspection from the previous 12 months (passed in Arizona), a valid county health permit, and a completed business license application with payment. To sell at a Town of Oro Valley location (park, field, ramada, pool), the truck must be invited by someone holding a Town reservation, who pays Parks & Recreation $15 an hour (limit two trucks per event); the truck needs a town business/public market license, a county health permit and a current fire inspection. [source] [source]

      Agency: Town of Oro Valley

  • City licenses

    • Town Code 8-2-2 makes it unlawful to carry on business in Oro Valley without a town license. The General Business License covers businesses operating from a retail space in town or from outside town while doing business inside it. The annual General Business License fee is $80, prorated monthly (from $80 in January down to $6.67 in December) and then due before January 31 each year. Apply and renew through the town's SmartGov portal. [source] [source] [source]

      • Oro Valley annual business license (full year; prorated monthly): $80 per year [source]

      Agency: Town of Oro Valley Community & Economic Development (Business Licensing)

  • Zoning and home businesses

    • Home businesses need a Home Occupation Permit under Zoning Code Section 25.2.E. Type 1 (no discernible impact on the neighborhood) is approved through the standard business license application; the Home Occupation License fee is $80 a year, prorated monthly. Type 2 (minor or adverse neighborhood impacts) needs Planning and Zoning Commission approval after a public hearing; the Type 2 fee is $390, paid in full before approval, and you then also get the business license. Not allowed: businesses that keep, care for or sell animals on the property, and vehicle repair, parts sales, upholstery, detailing, washing or painting. HOA covenants may also apply. [source] [source]

      • Oro Valley Type 2 home occupation review: $390 [source]

      Agency: Town of Oro Valley Planning

  • Regulatory licenses

    • Solicitors (anyone who travels to sell or solicit) need a Solicitor's License in addition to the business license; realtors who solicit and charitable, religious or educational solicitors have their own applications. Town Code 8-2-6 sets the peddler license tax at $80 each, with a transient merchant bond required. Public market participants (vendors at events that bring sellers together) pay $20 a year (not prorated); public market operators pay $80. Special event vendors apply through SmartGov by vendor type. Liquor: $80 town license tax plus a $500 application processing fee for original or transfer applications. [source] [source]

      Agency: Town of Oro Valley

Not yet verified for Oro Valley: How Town Code 8-2-2(E) applies in practice: it says the business license tax article does not apply to the part of a business covered by the town privilege (sales) tax, while the town page says all businesses need a license; confirm with Business Licensing ([email protected]); Detailed home occupation limits in Zoning Code 25.2.E (employees, customers, signs, floor area) — the code page couldn't be opened; Solicitor's, realtor and charitable solicitor license fees (not stated on the town page); Short-term rental licensing requirements and fees; Massage establishment licensing; Where and when mobile food vendors may operate on private property in Oro Valley (zoning rules beyond the Town-location policy); Building permits, certificate of occupancy and sign permits for a commercial space; Fire inspections for storefronts; Pima County annual food operating permit amounts; Arizona Department of Liquor Licenses and Control state fees; The town's Steps to Open a Business page (redirects to chooseorovalley.com, which couldn't be opened); How often the mobile food vendor license tax ($80 / $20) is paid.

Sources